Looking at a gap year

Information on Gap Years

Gap Year:
 A post-high school opportunity for self-exploration and personal growth,
leading to clearer direction and motivation for college studies and for your life.  
May include travel, cultural immersion, directed study,
service or conservation projects, internship opportunities, and more.

Link here for Gap Year Information Fairs


Here is a list of possible Gap Year opportunities:


African Leadership Academy.  www.alagapyear.org

AFS Intercultural Programs.  www.afs.org/AFSI

Alliances Abroad.  www.allianceabroad.com

AmeriCorps.  www.americorps.org

American Institute of Foreign Study.  www.aifs.com

Amerispan.  www.amerispan.com


Bridge Year.  www.bridgeyear.com

Bridgton Academy.  www.bridgtonacademy.org


Building Bridges for Coalition.  www.idealist.org/en/bridges/about.html

Carpe Diem Education. www.carpediemeducation.org 

Center for Cultural Exchange.  www.cci-exchange.com

Center for Interim Programs.  www.interimprograms.com 

CITY Term.  www.cityterm.org


College Internship Program.  www.collegeinternshipprogram.com

Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE).  www.ciee.org

Cultural Experiences Abroad.  www.gowithcea.com

Disney CareerStart Program.  www.disneycareerstart.com

Dynamy.  www.dynamy.org

Earthwatch.  www.earthwatch.org 


Experiment in International Living.  www.usexperiment.org 

Flying Fish.  www.flyingfishonline.com 

The French Culinary Institute.  www.frenchculinary.com 

G.A.P.Adventures.  www.gapadventures.com

Gap Year South Africa.  www.GapYearSouthAfrica.com 

Global College – Long Island University.  www.liu.edu/globalcollege 

Global Crossroad.  www.globalcrossroad.com

Global Learning Across Borders – Global LAB.  www.global-lab.org/programs/ 

GlobalQuest.  www.gquest.org

Global Routes.  www.globalroutes.org 

Global Volunteer Network.  www.backdoorjobs.com/worldwide.html

Habitat for Humanity.  www.habitat.org/ivp

Intrax Study Abroad.  www.intraxstudyabroad.com

InterExchange.  www.interexchange.org

International Cultural Adventures .  www.ICAdventures.com

Flying Fish.  www.flyingfishonline.com 

The French Culinary Institute.  www.frenchculinary.com 

G.A.P.Adventures.  www.gapadventures.com

Gap Year South Africa.  www.GapYearSouthAfrica.com 

Global College – Long Island University.  www.liu.edu/globalcollege 

Global Crossroad.  www.globalcrossroad.com

Global Learning Across Borders – Global LAB.  www.global-lab.org/programs/ 

GlobalQuest.  www.gquest.org

Global Routes.  www.globalroutes.org 

Global Volunteer Network.  www.backdoorjobs.com/worldwide.html

Habitat for Humanity.  www.habitat.org/ivp

Intrax Study Abroad.  www.intraxstudyabroad.com

InterExchange.  www.interexchange.org

International Cultural Adventures.  www.ICAdventures.com 

Jewish United Fund.  www.juf.org/israel

LEAPYear Experiential College Alternative.  www.leapnow.org

LEAPYear Internships.  www.leapnow.org

Magic Carpet Rides.  www.magiccarpetrides.org

Map the Gap International.  www.mapthegapinternational.com 

MASA Israel Journey.  www.masaisrael.org

Mine the Gap, Inc.  www.minethegap.us.com

National Audubon Society.  www.AEI-auduboncollege.org

National Civilian Community Corps. (NCCC).  www.americorps.org

National Outdoor Leadership School.  www.nols.edu

Outward Bound.  www.outwardbound.org

Pacific Challenge.  www.pacificchallenge.org

Pacific Discovery.  www.pacificdiscovery.org 


Rotary Youth Exchange International.  www.rotary.org

Rothberg International School.  Http://overseas.huji.ac.il

Rustic Pathways.  www.rusticpathways.com

School for Field Studies.  www.fieldstudies.org

Sea Mester.  www.seamester.com

Sojourns Abroad.  www.sojournsabroad.org

Southern France Youth Institute.   www.sfyi.org

Student Conservation Association.   www.thesca.org

Thames Academy at Mitchell College.  www.mitchell.edu/thamesacademy

Thinking Beyond Borders.  www.thinkingbeyondborders.com

Washington Internship Program.  www.washingtoninternship.com

Where there be dragons.  www.wheretherebedragons.com

Woolman Semester.  www.woolman.org/woolman.html

WWOOF (World Wide Opportunities On Organic Farms.)  www.wwoof.org

Youth For Understanding.  www.YouthForUnderstanding.org

Youth International.  www.youthinternational.org

Youth Outreach Volunteer.  www.gicarg.org

Young Judaea.  www.youngjudaea.org

Up With People.  www.upwithpeople.org

Volunteer for Peace.  www.vfp.org